Valley State Bank PictureYou Can Count On Us
Valley State Bank Logo
Valley State Bank Picture
Our Community  
Banking Services Menu
Our Community Menu
About Us Menu

  Get Adobe Reader


Franklin County Alabama

We belong to a county that is rich in history. The Alabama Territorial Legislature established Franklin County February 4, 1814, before Alabama became a state. Franklin County was named in honor of illustrious American patriot Benjamin Franklin.

The county originally extended north to the Tennessee River, but a parcel was later divided off and became Colbert County.

Several different sites have served as the county seat. In 1820 Russellville was the seat, but it was moved to Frankfort with the election of 1849. About 30 years later Belgreen became the county seat until its courthouse mysteriously burned
the night of December 1, 1890. The county seat was moved once again back
to Russellville where it resides today.

Cedar Creek Furnace, established in 1818, was one of the first industries in Franklin County. They strip mined and smelted iron. A foundry at the plant produced iron posts, skillets and other objects.

The schools maintain high standards of excellence in teaching, academics, athletics and other extra-curricular activities such as music, drama, and art.

We at Valley State Bank are proud to be a part of such a vital and growing community. Listed below are some of the upcoming events for our area.

Member FDIC

Valley State Bank, ©2000 - 2005
Site Design by ICS

Equal Housing Lender